Forensic Medical Examinations
Forensic Medical Examinations (FME) address the immediate needs of victims of sexual assault to ensure they get the help they need. FMEs also aid the criminal justice system by collecting valuable evidence. Victims may request a forensic medical examination at no cost to themselves regardless of whether the victim participates in the criminal justice system or cooperates with law enforcement in pursuing prosecution of the underlying crime.
Under Georgia law, a victim must not be billed directly or indirectly for an FME. Instead, organizations that provide these exams should submit requests for payment to the Forensic Medical Examination Program directly.
WHAT A PROVIDER NEEDS TO KNOW
All of the following criteria must be met:
- The sexual assault must have occurred in Georgia on or after July 1, 2011.
- The program will pay for the cost of a FME up to $1,000 per victim, per victimization. See the FME Fee Schedule.
Complete and submit a Complete Application Packet, which includes:
1. A Forensic Medical Examination Application for Payment
2. An itemized bill, HCFA1500, UB92, or a UB04 claim form. Click here for an example.
Additional requirements and information can be found on the program application.
Please Note: Beginning February 1, 2019 the Program will no longer mail Forensic Medical Examination award letters. Detailed Status information may be viewed on the Victims Comp Portal. If you are not registered for the Victims Comp Portal, please click here to register for access. If you have any questions, please contact us at 404-657-2222.
- FME Policy and Procedures
- FME Application for Payment for Child Advocacy/Rape Crisis/Sexual Assault Centers
- FME Application for Payment for Hospital/Medical Centers
- FME Law Enforcement Verification Form
- FME Department of Family and Children Services Verification Form
- FME Itemized Bill Example
- FME Fee Schedule
- CPT Code/Description of Services Reference Sheet
TO FURTHER ASSIST A VICTIM
The victim may apply for benefits offered through the Crime Victims Compensation Program for other expenses incurred as a result of the victimization. Our Program Advocates are available to help with the application process.
Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program Benefit Categories:
- Medical Expenses: up to $15,000
- Funeral Expenses: up to $6,000
- Counseling Expenses: up to $3,000
- Economic Support Expenses: up to $10,000
- Crime Scene Sanitization: up to $1,500