DUI Memorial Sign
Was your loved one killed on a Georgia State highway by an impaired driver?
The DUI Memorial Sign Program honors and helps family and friends remember those who lost their lives because someone else drove under the influence of drugs or alcohol. At the same time, the presence of a memorial sign draws attention to the dangers of impaired driving — with the goal of preventing other unnecessary deaths in the future.
If you are the next of kin to a victim of vehicular homicide caused by DUI, you may request the placement of a memorial sign. If approved, the DUI Memorial Program provides funds to the Georgia Department of Transportation for the placement of a memorial sign at or in close proximity to the crash site.
The crime must have occurred in Georgia on, or after May 13, 2004 and there must be a charge of DUI vehicular homicide by law enforcement.
Follow these 3 steps to expedite the processing of your claim:
- Click here to download the application.
- Gather and prepare to submit your Complete Application Packet. A Complete Application Packet includes:
- A signed application.
- A police report or motor vehicle accident report that lists the victim’s name.
- A copy of the victim’s death certificate.
- Mail the Complete Application Packet to DUI Memorial Program at 104 Marietta Street NW, Suite 440 Atlanta, GA 30303.
Additional requirements and information can be found on the program application.
YOU MAY ALSO BE ELIGIBLE FOR VICTIMS COMPENSATION
In addition to the Memorial Sign, you or your family members may also be eligible for other expenses related to the victimization. The Crime Victims Compensation Program may be able to help ease the financial burden and assist with expenses in the following categories:
Georgia Crime Victims Compensation Program Benefit Categories
- Medical Expenses: up to $15,000
- Funeral Expenses: up to $6,000
- Counseling Expenses: up to $3,000
- Economic Support Expenses: up to $10,000
- Crime Scene Sanitization: up to $1,500